Photo

Old Version Tanktastic Easter Egg Hunt (15a, 16a, 17a)

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Qnomei

Qnomei

Official Wiki Admin

• Community Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1565 posts
  • HomeThe Great Land of Cheese, also known as Wisconsin

Posted 16 April 2017 - 08:15 PM

Sorry for the late post, I was on break and just got back to school. Easter is probably over already for some of you.

Disclaimer:

Spoiler

Now that the legalese is out of the way, let's get down to business. A few days ago I was wondering about versions of the game I haven't played. Most of you know I started playing in update 18a, and have barely done anything since. I thought, I wonder what secrets the developers left in those versions of the game, like how the WWII tanks and the M1128 were hidden in 22a. I decided because it was Easter I would do an Easter Egg hunt in old versions of the game, if I could find them.

I started by looking for app packages of old versions. 15a was the easiest to find, there's an old thread on XDA Developers forum by Roman with a download that still works. The other two made me resort to shady sites and I'm glad my anti-virus works. These can still be installed on Android, but can't be played since the servers aren't configured for that. I found a few things of interest.

1) The theme music for 15a is pretty chill. There's also mesh (without a texture associated to it) named "plane" and four meshes named "propeller". Hmm. That's about all I found out about 15a besides that all 8 tanks had unique zoomed-in scopes. What happened to that? I couldn't view most of the files, they're in a format that can't easily be converted.

2) It says in 16 alpha's patch notes that Windows Phone support was planned. Interestingly enough, there is a windows icon in the HUD spritesheet for 16a and 17a. After Windows Phone flopped, they probably gave up on porting the game, but it's neat that they at least had the icon in the game beforehand.